top of page

Concerts and Clothes: What's the Common Thread?



Dissecting and discussing the reason why we choosing an outfit for a concert is so important.

We all know the feeling when one of your favourite artists announces they're embarking on a tour, and you immediately scramble to find out if they're coming to your city. You scan the list of dates as quickly as you can, to find that they are indeed coming to a venue near you. With flailing fingers, you text your friends to begin making plans.


All this to say, that everyone loves attending concerts. It's an event packed with music, dancing, and guaranteed memories that you'll always have to hold on to and reflect back on.

So, the big question: concerts and clothes, what's the common thread? Well, I don't know about you guys, but as shallow and vapid as it may sound, what I wear does affect my concert experience.



The outfit you wear should not only be comfortable and breathable enough to dance your heart out in, but I truly feel that you feel more connected to the artist and the experience if what you wear reflects their style of music. It is in this way, that clothes can be a powerful tool in enhancing your experience.


I recently attended The Chainsmoker's World War Joy tour. In all honesty I didn't go because I'm fan of them, though they do have some really catchy songs, regardless of what anyone says. Instead I went because 5 Seconds of Summer were one of the supporting acts, and I really enjoyed their latest album Youngblood. So, even though I went for them, I was thoroughly impressed by the Chainsmoker's set, in part because I had little-to-no expectations for their show.


I didn't even think about what to wear until a few days before the show. But when considering my options, it took some time before I thought of incorporating this midi skirt into my outfit. But I'm so glad I ended up going with it, because it was so much more breathable than a pair of jeans would have been.

I paired the skirt with a t-shirt, that I knotted, from Zara that read "Fast Romance." One of my favourite 5 Seconds of Summer songs has a lyric that goes: "Talk fast, romance" so I though the t-shirt was a nice, but subtle, ode to that.

I knew I would be doing a lot of dancing, and standing in general, so I wanted to be comfortable. Though this outfit would have looked incredible with a pair of white, heeled boots I opted for sneakers I picked up from Topshop after seeing them on my girl Casandra from @theselostsouls.

I topped the look off with a biker jacket, a studded crossbody bag, and voilà— concert ready!

I had a truly magical time at the show, even though I did have a really early morning class the next day, and contracted a case of laryngitis, but I guess you've just got to role with the punches!


bottom of page