top of page

My Must Haves For My New Quarantine Routine



My list of must-haves for the most premium quarantine routine.

There's no real way to get around the very obvious elephant in the world-sized room: we're all trying to adjust to our new way of life, one that will continue for the foreseeable future.


As life is rapidly shifting, so are out priorities and the things we may need to adjust to the new routine of our lives. Luckily, my university was able to adapt our courses to fit an online model, so I'm actually quite busy with school work for a majority of the day. I'm also working remotely, writing articles for an entertainment website, so I actually need to hit some level of productivity during my day. And to help me adjust to this new routine, I've relied on certain things to help me feel more productive during my days.



LOUNGEWEAR








Before the mandates self-isolation period, I've never been a fan of sweats. But once I realized that I would be spending a lot of time at home for an unforeseen amount of time, I just new I needed to stock up on a few pairs of sweats and hoodies, so I would at least be comfortable.


So I went over to H&M's website and picked up a few sets of loungewear, just so I would have something to change into and keep me from wearing my pyjamas 24/7. And surprisingly, I've really enjoyed wearing them! I feel best in neutral colours, so I opted for a taupe crew neck and sweats, a cream crewneck and sweats, and a black crewneck (from the men's section!) and sweats. It really makes me feel more productive when I'm wearing something that comfy yet coordinated, and tells my brain that when the sweats are on, it's time to start my day and get things done.


WORKOUT GEAR








I've been working out consistently for a little over a month now, but now that I have so much more free time, much like everyone else, I've really ramped up my health and wellness habits. This includes a major clean-up of my diet and most significantly, working out five times a week. And since I'm now exercising more than I ever have before, I figured that I should invest in some new workout gear--an investment that's been long overdue.


So, I went over to Aerie's website and browsed their selection of workout gear, and picked out a navy sports bra and matching leggings, and the same bra and leggings in black. Though I haven't actually tested it out yet, I'm really impressed with the feel of the material, specifically how soft it is.


Working out helps me stay sane, in all honestly, and makes me feel in control of one thing amidst all the craziness going on in the world that I, of course, cannot control.



SKINCARE












Skincare has always been really important to me, but because I haven't worn makeup for about two weeks now, I'm obsessed with making sure that my skin looks its best.


My skincare routine has been pretty established, and my core products have stayed the same. I naturally have oily skin, so I swear by the Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser. As for keeping my skin's tone and texture in check, I love The Ordinary's Glycol Acid 7% Toning Solution, Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1% serum, as well as their Retinol 1% in Squalenein conjunction, these three products have changed my skin. I also use The Ordinary's Natural Moisturizing Factors+ HA, and Caffeine Solution 5% + EGCG for my under eyes.


So, I've definitely picked up backups of those products just because I absolutely need them. But, I've also purchased some new products from Sephora to incorporate into my skincare routine. One, that I've really been enjoying is the Sephora Collection Precision Pore Cleansing Pad which really makes my skin feel like it's been deep cleaned and exfoliated.


I've also been loving Origins Original Skin Retexurizing Mask with Rose Clay. I've found clay-based masks to be beneficial for my skin type, and this mask has little granules that lightly exfoliate the skin when rinsing it off.


Lastly, I've been getting back into steaming my face which, I used to do more regularly before I began university. But since I have more time on my hands, I've been doing it more, and have noticed that it's helped with how clean my skin feels after cleansing, and its luminosity.


I don't know about you guys, but when my skin looks good during the day, I feel better about myself and sometimes that's all you really need to have a better day.


Like many, likely all, of you I'm also trying my best to adjust to this new lifestyle. There are just some minor things that are helping me do that.


I hope you are all staying healthy and safe.

Comments


bottom of page