top of page

Fashion Faces: Casandra, Closets, and Camel Coats


Clothes make an outfit, but style tells a story. And Casandra's is one you'll want to read.

A fashion story begins in a familiar place. 21 year old blogger and student Casandra's begins in her old house, specifically in her mom's closet. With just enough to room walk in, she remembers "... filing through all of her pieces. Despite that it was the late 90's, early 2000's, she had such interesting pieces."

Along with strangers, bloggers, celebrities, and even home decor, her grandparents photo albums also serve as a point of reference for Casandra. "Fashion always comes back and I'm always inspired by what my grandparents wore, especially in the 70's. I'm still looking for a pair of high waisted bell bottom jeans like my grandmothers had when they were younger."

Though it was her mother's wardrobe that introduced her love of fashion, and her grandparents vintage style that inspires her, she does not necessarily identify with the style of that era. She looks up to fashion icons like Selena Gomez and Blake Lively, saying that they have a style that is similar to hers. A style she describes as: "... a classic look with a slight twist," which consist of "a good, tailored pant. A beautiful, oversized blazer. And then mixing it with very feminine pieces."

Another look Casandra considers to be classic is a t-shirt and a pair of jeans, otherwise known as her uniform: "You can never go wrong. It's a perfect base for wherever you have to go," she says, noting that you can always accessorize depending on the occasion.

Though there is a difference between having style and being trendy, Casandra is the right balance of both. "I don't follow a lot of trends to the T, but there are some trends every season that I'm drawn to" she says, adding that she is usually attracted to trends that would work well with her existing wardrobe.

But not every fashion moment can be winner and she knows that. One that Casandra does not look back on with particular fondness includes a pair of brown cowboy boots she bought when she was in high school. "I was in love with them when I saw them. I really don't know why. I thought they were the coolest shoes ever. I wore them that year and slowly realized that they made everything else I wore with them look ridiculous. I donated them a year later I think."

The donation of those beloved boots most likely happened during one of her frequent closet clean-outs. "About once every few months I look through my closet at what I haven't worn in a while [or] what's overly worn to the point of no return. If I can't re-integrate it into my current wardrobe, it goes in the donate pile" she says.

An item that she could never imagine getting rid of? Her beloved, long camel coat. "I bought it at Forever 21 on sale for $80 three years ago," she says acknowledging that the price tag was a little steep for Forever 21. Despite this, Casandra reassures that it's beautiful piece: "I haven't found anything like it for the same price and I had been scouring websites and stores forever for the perfect coat just like it... It's long, hitting me at the ankles, and it's the most perfect shade of camel. It goes with absolutely everything and is a staple in my fall wardrobe." For those reasons, it is an item Casandra knowns she will never part with.

That being said, when asked to pick just three pieces in her wardrobe she would want to save, she couldn't! "I cannot pick just three. I've got so many pieces in my wardrobe that I love so much."

To Casandra, fashion means much more than trying out the latest trends or having the newest clothes. "To me, fashion is wearable art. It's meant to be fun and expressive." Unfortunately, that love was not always well-received by those around her, especially during her formative years: "I was often teased in high school because I dressed up a little rather than just throwing on leggings or sweatpants like everyone else." And instead of caving in, she stuck to her own way of dressing because the way she felt was more important to her than what others thought of her: "...I always felt that when I looked good, I felt good." But most importantly, she says that "fashion is an expression of who you are."

Casandra's fashion journey is only just starting. Currently studying journalism, she one day hopes to become a fashion journalist. And with her eye for style and flare for fashion, Casandra will be taking the fashion industry by storm in no time. Just you wait!


Casandra is co-writer of fashion and lifestyle blog theselostsouls.com. For more of Casandra, check out her blog and its Instagram @theselostsouls.

bottom of page